Tourist Consortium of the Baix Gaià

The town of Altafulla is part of the Tourist Consortium of the Baix Gaià, a recently-formed association of towns whose purpose is to promote the region. This promotional instrument includes the eleven towns in the Baix Gaià county (Altafulla, El Catllar, Creixell, La Nou de Gaià, La Pobla de Montornès, Renau, La Riera de Gaià, Roda de Barà, Salomó, Torredembarra and Vespella de Gaià), two districts of Tarragona (Ferran and Tamarit) and the hamlet of La Secuita (l’Argilaga).

In 2012 the Altafulla Town Council will be organizing the first Baix Gaià Castle Walk, a social and sporting event that visits some of the most unusual places in the area. The walk will cover the castles of Altafulla, Ferran, La Riera (Castellot), El Catllar and Tamarit. The central thread of the whole walk is the course of the River Gaià, and one of the crossing points is the mouth of the river itself.